After a cup of flavored coffee and a short read, I am ready to pen my thoughts~

The Sea is Vast~

Salt air all around,

Coldness,

A fireplace with Birch snapping,

The beautiful night skies

Of forever scenes,

Boardwalks over the cranberry bogs,

Standing at the water’s edge of wet

Shallows and odd bits of seaweed over

Rocks, looking for shells,

Tumbling in the sea,

Simple forms of circles,

Studies of water patterns,

I think of him,

My heart kicks with memory,

Remembering odds and ends,

Walks together,

Along the road,

A house of lonely feelings.

Missing you,

In the kitchen,

On a cushion,

The room filled with the scent

Of roses,

A heady scent of love,

A beautiful ache for you,

I feel you,

Inside my soul,

Moving there,

that scene of us,

Missing it,

Wanting you,

Sometimes, I have a clear

Sense of him,

That i can’t trade for anything

In this world. It is raw and the quiet

Remembers it, waiting for more as the grass

Rustles around the water so near,

That quiet stillness of memories buried deep

Inside me, coming the surface to release,

You are inside me!–J. E. Cook © 2023

Leave a comment